top of page
  • Writer's pictureEliza

My Top 10 Musical Theatre Songs

So if you know anything about me,

you know I love musicals, I could sit

and listen for hours to the same

show on repeat For Forever (haha).

So here are my top 10 songs I want

to share with you for you to enjoy.



Song #10

Superboy and the Invisible Girl~"Next to Normal"

My least favorite favorite song has to be this one, because I don't know much about this musical besides the fact that I love this song. It's so catchy.


Song #9

Story of Tonight~"Hamilton"

Yes, I'm doing a couple songs from "Hamilton", but could you blame me? I love it just as much as any theatre geek did at some point. This song is so beautiful, the way the ensemble is incorporated in is phenomenal and I just love it.


Song #8

King of New York~"Newsies"

Tap number done by a bunch of cute guys and an adorable nine-year old, something I never knew I needed until I got it.


Song #7

Something to Believe In ~"Newsies"

This song is so pretty altogether, the duet has a certain feel about it that makes the song such a fun song to listen to it, the voices blend so well no matter who is singing it, and the music behind it is something I would love to play with my band, but honestly? I'd love to play the whole score.


Song #6

For Forever~"Dear Evan Hansen"

Ben Platt's Vibrato. Beautiful.


Song #5

Watch What Happens~"Newsies"

This song is actually so relatable. Kara Lindsay is also extremely talented and performs this song so well, I got goosebumps the first time I saw it.


Song #4

You Will Be Found~"Dear Evan Hansen"

This song has helped me through some pretty rough times I'm not going to lie, its so inspirational and all of the voices blend beautifully. It's hard to believe only eight people are in the Dear Evan Hansen cast.


Song #3

As Long As You're Mine~"Wicked"

I love Wicked but I love this song more. I prefer the song live as apposed so the cast recording, however, making it so high on my list. Ryan McCartan and Jessica Vosk's version is personally my favorite.


Song #2

Helpless~"Hamilton"

This song is such a bop that can cheer me up no matter what the problem is. It gets stuck in my head but it's one of those songs you don't mind getting it stuck in your head.


AND NOW THE MOMENT YOU'VE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR


Song #1

Crowd of Thousands ~"Anastasia"

I am a sucker for sappy love songs (as shown above) but this one is so close to the top because of the chemistry displayed between Derek Klena and Christy Altomare. I wasn't able to see them live, but I've seen recordings which clearly show how devoted they were to their show.




37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page