top of page
  • Writer's pictureEliza

Keeper of the Lost Cities Book Review

Updated: Nov 26, 2018

It was my mother who originally introduced me

to this series, telling me it was right up my alley,

but I refused, not giving it a second look, but

she persisted and from the moment I read the

first page I fell in love. Keeper of the Lost Cities

has been a part of my life for five years now,

having a huge impact on me and all of those

I have shared it with.

↞⧫↠

Now to the book, the main character, Sophie, is an extremely smart 12-year-old in a senior class, who can also read others minds. Then, one day while on a field trip with her class, she runs into a boy, to her shocking revelation, his mind is silent.


He introduces himself as Fitz, and tells Sophie he knows what she is, causing her to run away, and being put in a very dangerous situation, where she realizes her true power. He then takes her to the world she’s supposed to be in. This world dims in comparison that is described here, where the people and places are perfect. She meets other elves, who are helping her to understand who she really is.


She returns to her own world, having to say goodbye to the world she knows, including her family, and steps into a whole world. Follow Sophie as she learns secrets about her past, and the people who thought they were perfect, may not be so perfect after all.

↞⧫↠

The series has seven books so far, with two more coming out in November 2019 and November 2020, and fans are only growing with each book. Shannon Messenger, the genius who created this intricate series, gives you plenty of surprises each November before the books come out. She gives me something to look forward to every day she releases a teaser or art (which is amazing, drawn by Laura Hollingsworth) and the title and cover release in early June to late August.


I have two copies of each book in the series, one for myself and one to share with others. I have read this series over and over more times then I can count.


This book is appropriate for all ages, I started the series when I was nine and now I am fourteen, there is no inappropriate language, but there is roma in the later books.

I recommend this series to everyone of all ages, I promise you won’t regret it. If you do read it, tell me about it, I’d love to hear your opinion about everything.


~Eliza

All of the swag I have collected through the years of being a fan!

209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page